Chocolate Chip Cookie Delight

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ve noticed that I almost always cook from scratch.  As I’ve advanced in my cooking, I’ve really gotten away from boxed mixes and instant meals and desserts – for both health and taste reasons. We really try to limit what processed foods we eat, so our meals always made from fresh, pure, natural ingredients. Never will you find a frozen TV dinner or cake mix in my house.

Enter the rule breaker – chocolate chip cookie delight. I bookmarked this recipe months ago, unsure whether I would make it or not. The ingredient list includes everything I try to avoid – whipped topping, pudding mix, refrigerated cookie dough?! I might as well go swimming in a pool of high fructose corn syrup.

Well…I am here to tell you to get off your high horse and try this recipe! I needed a quick and easy dessert to take to dinner one night and this fit the bill. It was a huge hit! The layers of cookie, cream cheese and pudding make this dessert extremely decadent and rich. It is so delicious, and my family is insisting that I make for every family event from now on.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Delight
Yields: 12 servings

Ingredients:
1 tube (16-1/2 ounces) refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough
1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 carton (12 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed
3 cups cold milk
1 package (3.9 ounces) instant chocolate pudding mix
1 package (3.4 ounces) instant vanilla pudding mix
Mini chocolate chips, for garnish

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Allow your cookie dough stand at room temperature for 5-10 minutes to soften. Press the dough into an ungreased 13-in. x 9-in. baking pan. Bake for 14-16 minutes or until golden brown. Allow the cookie to cool completely.

In a large bowl, beat cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Fold in
1-3/4 cups whipped topping. Spread over crust. In a large bowl, whisk milk and
pudding mixes for 2 minutes; let stand for 2 minutes or until soft-set. Spread
over cream cheese layer. Top with remaining whipped topping. Sprinkle with chocolate chips.

Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight until firm

Source: The Dainty Chef

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Chip Cookie Delight

  1. Some nights you just need to whip up something quick! But this has so many components of goodness….creamy, sweet, chocolatey, and that crust! I’m with you, though I try to make things from scratch…oddly it is a quick and simple recipe like this which actually tastes the best! Also, Chrissy….I received an award recently which I would like to pass on to you! I love your blog and your amazing recipes. So you can find it here…http://www.frommysweetheart.com/im-ecstatic-an-award/. : )

Leave a Reply

