How To: Make Brown Sugar

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to bake something and realize that I don’t have any brown sugar left. Luckily, there is an easy solution that problem – make your own brown sugar! You only need two ingredients – molasses and granulated sugar. Not only does homemade brown sugar come out fluffier and softer than store bought brown sugar – it has a fantastic taste and beautiful color to it.

Ingredients:
For light brown sugar = 1 cup of granulated sugar to every 1 tablespoon of molasses
For dark brown sugar = 1 cup of granulated sugar to every 2 tablespoons of molasses

Directions:
Combine the sugar and molasses with an electric mixer, starting on low speed, then slowly increasing the speed to high. Mix the sugar for 5-8 minutes, or until all the molasses balls are incorporated into the sugar. Store in an airtight container.

Source: Noble Pig

This entry was posted in How To, Pantry Staples. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To: Make Brown Sugar

  1. katie says:

    Fantastic! How long can it be stored for?

    • Chrissy says:

      Im not sure since this is the first time that I made it, but I did a little googling and Alton Brown says up to a month. I’m not sure that it would neccesarily go bad, but it would probably get hard.

  2. Carrie says:

    Wow this is cool. I will remember this for when I am in a pinch.

  3. I have brown sugar on my grocery list, and molasses in my cabinet….I think I’ll try and whip this up instead!

  4. Pingback: Homemade Brown Sugar « the cooking nurse

Leave a Reply

