The BEST Chocolate Chip Cookies

Everyone has their favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. My favorite recipe comes from my grandmother, and they were the only chocolate chip cookies that we ate growing up. It was by far the most commonly made recipe in our house, proven by the recipe card that is tattered and stained. There are so many chocolate chip cookies floating around on the internet, but I don’t stray far from this recipe. I don’t like chocolate chip cookies that are hard and crunchy, and I don’t like cookies that are soft and cake-like. This recipe uses a combination of shortening and butter to produce a dense, chewy cookie with a crisp exterior, which in my opinion, is the way a chocolate chip cookie should be!

The BEST Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yields: About 8 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2/3 cup butter
2/3 cup shortening
2 eggs
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375.

Cream together the sugars, butter, shortening, egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and mix until well combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake until light brown, about 8-10 minutes. Cool slightly on the cookie sheet, then transfer to a wire cooling rack.

Source: Family recipe.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies, Family Favorites. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The BEST Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Melissa says:

    I must try these ASAP! They look like my perfect kind of cookie, and I’ve never tried putting shortening in my dough before!

  2. Jackie says:

    What is shortening? I’m in South Africa & don’t think I’ve ever heard of it. Thanks

  3. liz says:

    jackie, you’ll find shortening in all the grocery stores in sa including pick n pay, checkers or woolworths. just go to the baking section of your supermarket. try crisco brand. its the best, in my opinion and available in most countries.

Leave a Reply

