Caramel Puff Corn

Warning: Do not make these if you are on a diet. They are extremely addicting! I made these for an appetizer for Thanksgiving, and I found myself migrating towards the bowl all afternoon while I cooked. They melt in your mouth! I found the recipe on the back of the bag of Puff Corn, and thought they would be a great alternative to the traditional carmel corn. It is super easy to make, and only requires a few ingredients.

Caramel Puff Corn
Yields: 9 ounces of carmel corn

Ingredients:
9 0z bag of Puff Corn
1 cup (2 sticks) of butter
1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
2/3 cup light corn syrup
1 tsp baking soda

Directions:
Preheat oven to 250. Pour the Puff Corn into a large roasting pan. In a medium saucepan, melt together the butter, brown sugar and corn syrup until well incorporated. Add the baking soda to the carmel mixtures. (It will cause the mixture to foam).

Pour caramel mixture over the Puff corn and stir until mixed. Bake in a 250 degree oven for 45 minutes, stirring at least every 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven, pour on wax paper and break apart. Store in a ziplock bag or air-tight container.

(As a delicious option, drizzle melted chocolate, or cinnamon over the mixture after you remove it from the oven.)

Source: Back of the Old Dutch PuffCorn bag

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dessert, Snack. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Caramel Puff Corn

  1. Carrie says:

    I love this popcorn, my favorite.

  2. I dont think I have ever had puff corn! I might live under a rock. If I ever find it then I will definitely try this recipe!

  3. Chef Dennis says:

    now you’ve done it, created an incredible snack I will not be able to stop eating!!!
    Thanks for such a simple great post!!
    Dennis

  4. Jim says:

    where do you find puffed corn ?

    • Chrissy says:

      I found it in the chip aisle…sometimes it is buttered flavored which is fine. There is a brand called “Chester’s Puffcorn”, which I believe is the brand I used.

Leave a Reply

