Buffalo Chicken Tenders

Anyone who knows me, knows that buffalo chicken tenders are usually my go-to meal whenever I go out to dinner. The main reason being, they are almost always good, and I know I won’t be dissapointed. Recently though, I have been trying to be more adventurous and try different meals when I go out to eat. That being said, buffalo chicken tenders are still one of my favorites meals and I’ve been looking for a way to recreate them (without frying) at home.  These chicken tenders are delicious, and would be great as a sandwich, on buffalo chicken pizza, or eaten alone alongside its counterpart, blue cheese and celery.

Buffalo Chicken Tenders
Yields: About 10 chicken tenders

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups coarsely crushed cornflakes
1 pound chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch-thick strips (about 2 breasts)
Cooking spray

1/3 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce
1 tablespoon melted butter

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400°.

Combine first 6 ingredients in a shallow dish, stirring with a whisk. Place egg whites in a shallow dish. Place cornflakes in a shallow dish. Working with 1 chicken tender at a time, dredge in flour mixture. Dip in egg whites; dredge in cornflakes. Place on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Repeat procedure with remaining chicken tenders, flour mixture, egg whites, and cornflakes.

Lightly coat chicken tenders with cooking spray. Bake at 400° for 10 minutes or until done, turning once.

Stir together Frank’s hot sauce and melted butter until well incorporated. You can add more butter if you like a mild sauce, or skip the butter if you prefer hotter sauce. Serve with blue cheese, celery, and carrots.

*Freezer Friendly Tip* – Whenever I make these, I always double or triple the recipe, and keep the extras in the freezer. They freeze well in a zip-lock bag, and just reheat in the oven or microwave for a quick dinner.

Source: Adapted from Cooking Light, as seen on Amber’s Delectable Delights.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Chicken, Football Food, Freezer Friendly, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buffalo Chicken Tenders

  1. michelle says:

    We love buffalo chicken around here, I will be trying this soon! I love the flavor of Franks, It’s the best!

  2. Oh mercy, I love buffalo chicken tenders! I will definitely have to try this! I always just used Franks in the past.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday 12/7/10 « the cooking nurse

Leave a Reply

