Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Chicken

I love my crockpot. There is nothing I love more than dumping a few ingredients into the crockpot, turning it on and coming home a few hours lately with dinner waiting for me. I’m a big fan of pulled pork, but since I didn’t have any pork in my freezer, I figured I would make pulled chicken instead. I came across this recipe, and was a little skeptical of the italian dressing in it, but it turned out awesome. The chicken was very tender, and the sauce it cooked in was very tasty. I used the chicken to make sandwiches, but it would also be great on baked potatoes or can be used to make a BBQ chicken pizza. Grab a fork – it is a little messy to eat!

Ingredients:
6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 – 12 oz. bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce (I recommend Sweet Baby Rays)
1/2 cup Italian dressing (I used fat-free)
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

Directions:
Remove the fat from the chicken breasts, then place the chicken in the slow cooker.

In a bowl, mix the BBQ sauce, Italian dressing, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce together until smooth. Pour over the chicken breasts.

Cover, and cook for 3-4 hours on high, or 6-8 hours on low. I cooked it on high for 3 hours, shredded the chicken, then cooked it on low for 1 additional hour.

*Freezer Friendly Tip* – Freeze individual portions in a zip-lock bag for a quick lunch or dinner. Just re-heat the chicken in a microwave safe bowl and stir in a little extra bbq sauce if needed.

Source: Allrecipes.com

This entry was posted in Chicken, Crockpot, Football Food, Freezer Friendly, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Chicken

  1. Annie says:

    I love slow cooker recipes. The italian dressing probably does something with tenderizing the meat.

Leave a Reply

